Oxford Golf Club has a unique and varied history.
The original golf club to take up residence here was the Oxford University Golf Club in 1875. They remained the only golf club here until 1899. It was at this time that the Oxford City Golf Club joined the fold with the Oxford Ladies Golf Club joining two years later in 1901. In 1922 the club acquired the land of Southfield farm, the Southfield Estate was established and Southfield Golf Club was born.
The club continued to be managed by Oxford University Golf Club until just after the war in 1945 when the number of City and Lady Club members far outweighed that of the University members and so the University handed control over to Oxford City and Oxford Ladies. The three clubs continue to be associated with our location to this very day. In 2014 Southfield Golf Club changed its name to Oxford Golf Club to represent its prime location in the heart of Oxford.